Home > Uncategorized > FEATURE: Interview With Phiesta

FEATURE: Interview With Phiesta

February 9, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Where in the world do you come from and where do you currently live?
I come from and currently live in Southern Rome.


How did you start painting graffiti?
First piece I painted it was just for fun..It was more a sign for my bunch. I wrote “west side”(‘cause we used to listen hip-hop all day) and then I remember, that I liked it and slowly I started with this stuff. Anyway I’ve always been good at drawing, having followed the teachings of my grandfather and my father.I have been painting since june 2006.
Tell us about your craziest night painting?
The craziest night in my opinion, is surely the one where me and my friends painted a whole-train. 5 of the best Roman writers, 5 whole cars for 5 of us…all the train were painted..Something it was awesome!
All the city has talked about was that sick train for months. I remember that night, I went out from my home with 20 brand new cans (12 were 600ml) and a light ladder.. I felt strange while driving, I felt that something big was going to happen. Before starting to paint, we were excited, but then in the yard, not a fly flew. everyone involved in their work. If anybody was on the other side of the train, they would call the fire department for the smoke rising..hah!
Luckily everything went smoothly, and I can assure you , that seeing that train the next day was something indescribable.
I felt so happy for days and days.
Name a track you are really diging at this moment?
I love hip hop as I said before, and the artists I currently listen too and respect are Nas, Jay-z, Eminem, Game, Cube, Big ‘n Pac, Fab, Dre. and this last one ,recently, has attracted my attention, by the output of the most anticipated album in hip hop history. However today I’m listening to“Kush-Dre,Snoop,Timbo”



Some of the trains you have painted are insanely detailed, whats the longest you spent painting a train?

It’s not about time. It’s all about mentality. Here in Rome, there are people that in the same time I paint a panel, they do 2 dirty pieces,20 flops or 50 tags..but I use
this time to show off my style,I focus only on the piece.
Ever been arrested? Or were you just too quick?
Never arrested but different runs ins from the cops. I remember one, where Immediately after drawing outlines, the police arrive at the station saying :”you are under arrest, don’t move”, and we just managed to escape from that place by running in a pitch black tunnel. When I finally came home, the next morning, I remembered and thought: “thank god!”
Whats your opinion on street art?
In first I respect all forms of art: music, painting canvas, cinema, theater, photography, buildings etc.
For sure street art is more safe than illegal graffiti, and then they have more of a possibility to make some money than us.
Name some Artists/Writers who motivate you?
I used to take inspiration from everything around me, and every artist, writer, singer, photographer that make me feel good, viewing and listening to productions.
In my opinion, we are all part of a some mechanism, and each one has its own small contribution, helps to move something big. Graffiti is not 1 or 3 or 10 people that have make history 9respect to originators). Graffiti is all people that today move this great circle.
Where do you see yourself in five years? Do you think you will still be painting the trains?
In five years I don’t think ill paint trains again, as I do today, I will be 33!  maybe one a month,or on special occasions, who knows..?
Certainly Ill still be painting on the walls, at jam and events. Ill still paint for sure.
Thanks for your time, do you have any last words?
Wanna say hi to my girl Emy, an my friend Brus
“Do ya thang.”Check him out on flickr

  1. February 9, 2011 at 7:05 PM

    Great read from a true stylemaster, respects to PHIESTA for the level headed attitude.

  2. February 9, 2011 at 8:07 PM

    nice interview. dude’s come a long way for only starting in ’06…

  3. February 10, 2011 at 11:06 AM

    Best trainswriter in the whole world at now.No doubt

  1. February 9, 2011 at 1:35 PM
  2. February 17, 2011 at 3:12 AM

Leave a comment