Home > Uncategorized > FEATURE: Interview With PixelJuice23

FEATURE: Interview With PixelJuice23

February 25, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Where in the world do you come from and where do you currently live?
I was born in Italy and spent most of my childhood there. 20 years ago my family moved to Germany and we have lived here ever since.How did you start painting graffiti?
When I came to Germany it was a pretty hot time for graffiti in the Rhein-Main area. You could find it everywhere. In the city, painted trains were rollin, in trainstations… everywhere…it really caught my attention when I saw the movie ‘Wild Style‘ I knew that I wanted to be part of this movement.You are painting some of the best characters I have ever seen, where do you get the inspiration from?
Thanks for that. I do my best. What inspired me the most were the books, I’ve read and loved, by Jeff Noon, H.P. Lovecraft, Haruki Murakami. It opened a new world of ideas and impressions to me. I’m  still getting my ideas out of it. Another big inspiration was my trip to Russia last year. I had a great time there and I was able to work with Rusl of Love Letters on his Liquid Project. I learnd a lot there, most of all taking time when it comes to details.

How long does it take you to paint a one of your creations?
It depends on how detailed and big the painting is going to be. normally I need 5-6 hours for every character. But I’m a chilled out person and funny enough, most of the times I’m the last one to leave the wall, hehe.

Have you allways painted characters or did you do any bombing?
Yeah, I think the most sprayers have started with bombings. That is good training years as well. After I learnt painting through styles and how to handle a spraycan I started with characters. I always loved drawing characters but never tried with a spraycan. Sure, the beginning was disappointing, but the outcome got better and better so I started focusing on characters. But it doesn’t hurt doing styles once in a while. It still makes fun.


Tell us about your craziest night painting?
There were a lot of crazy nights. One I can  remember is this, cause is example for the mistakes you can make when you go out bombing:
I was out with asomeone I just got to know and wanted to paint a train. He told me in advance how good he knows the yard and that he painted all his trains here. Since I hadn’t  painted a train for a while I thought I should give it a chance. We drove to the yard at night and there where lights everywhere, locomotives where driving around… it was a lot going on. I told him to go back later, that it was to busy for me. His answer was ‘you can go spray  at a legal place if you start bitching around like that’. So I thought, ok let’s wait and see. A little while later we jumped the fence and there it goes… a police car right in front of us. We started running, underneath the first train, the second one … while I hid my cans under a train, threw my caps away, blablabla.
We just started crawling out under the last train, when the police got us. Then the usual procedure: lay down on the floor ect… a little while later the one police officer asked us what that strange smell was. We were allowed to get up and we recognized that my ‘colleague’ was lying in a pile of shit. He couldn’t stop laughing, and so did the police officers while they were handing him a tissue. I thought ‘oh gosh’.
Now the police concentration was fully on him. They started to scan us and of course they couldn’t find anything in my pockets. Unlike my ‘colleague’ I was clever enough to throw everything away. They found pieces in every single one of his pockets. Gloves full with color, caps… and the best, he had fotos of his  painted trains with him. I couldn’t believe it and thought WTF… what else? I forgot that we came by car and that was the next place the police scanned. And what did they find in the trunk? Right… even more incriminating material… even his blackbook. I was sooo pissed and not in the mood to watch him consign himself so I asked if I can go. They didn’t pay that much attention to me anyway so they let me go without even gathering my personal data. But basically it didn’t make me wonder with that much dumbness around and I never heard anything about that again. Lucky for me, my ‘colleague’ didn’t tell them anything about my involvement. But I still think pride goes before the fall and what the effff… where did that guy leave his brain behind on that day?Crazy world

Ever been arrested? Or were you just too quick?
Yeah, once when I was young and careless. I will never forget the look on my parents faces when they picked me up at 4 o’clock in the morning on the police station. Since then I was lucky or faster.

Do you think there is a difference between street art and graffiti?
Nowadays it’s hard to say where the borders are. They keep blurring more and more.

Where do you see yourself in five years? Do you think you will still be painting?
That’s a good question. My (ex)girlfriends kept asking it too. They came and went and I’m still paintin graffiti. Therefore I would say, yes I will still be paintin in 5 years. It became existential for me and it helps keeping my mind straight in this daily madness.

Thanks for your time, do you have any last words?
Thanks for the interview. peace, love and respect to all the people I met over the years.

Check out his flickr for more.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

